Saturday, October 22, 2005

World Series Game 1

Roger Clemens will be taking the mound for the Astros in Game 1 of the World Series tonight against Jose Contreras. Roger Clemens has hit 150 batters in the regular season, and 6 in the postseason. Contreras has hit 22 in the regular season, never hit a batter in the postseason, and has never hit Craig Biggio with a pitch.
The home team in game 1 of the World Series has 57 wins, 42 losses and 1 tie, and teams that get hit by a pitch in game 1 of the World Series are 19-22. But, when the home team gets hit by a pitch in game 1, they are 13-12.

Here's every World Series game 1 plunk ever:
2004 - Tim Wakefield hit Albert Pujols, Woody Williams hit Orlando Cabrera
2003 - David Wells hit Juan Pierre
2001 - Mike Mussina hit Tony Womack, Curt Schilling hit Derek Jeter
2000 - Andy Pettitte and Mariano Rivera hit Todd Pratt
1998 - Brian Boehringer hit Chuck Knoblauch
1988 - Dave Stewart hit Steve Sax, Tim Belcher hit Jose Canseco
1985 - John Tudor hit Hal McRae
1982 - Bob Forsch hit Roy Howell
1980 - Dennis Leonard hit Pete Rose, Renie Martin hit Greg Luzinski
1977 - Don Gullett hit Dusty Baker, Don Sutton hit Reggie Jackson
1976 - Don Gullett hit Chris Chambliss
1974 - Rollie Fingers hit Joe Ferguson
1962 - Billy O'Dell hit Elston Howard
1960 - Jim Coates hit Vern Law, Ryne Duren hit Bob Skinner
1954 - Sal Maglie hit Al Smith
1953 - Allie Reynolds hit Roy Campanella
1947 - Ralph Branca hit Billy Johnson
1946 - Howie Pollet hit Rudy York, Tex Hughson hit Whitey Kurowski
1945 - Hank Borowy hit Hank Greenberg
1941 - Johnny Allen hit Johnny Sturm
1938 - Bill Lee hit Frankie Crosetti
1936 - Carl Hubbell hit Lou Gehrig
1932 - Burleigh Grimes hit Bill Dickey
1927 - Waite Hoyt hit Lloyd Waner,
1925 - Walter Johnson hit Max Carey twice, Lee Meadows hit Bucky Harris
1921 - Carl Mays hit Johnny Rawlings
1919 - Eddie Cicotte hit Morrie Rath, Grover Lowdermilk hit Jake Daubert
1918 - Babe Ruth hit Max Flack
1916 - Ernie Shore hit George Cutshaw
1912 - Joe Wood hit Chief Meyers
1911 - Chief Bender hit Fred Snodgrass
1909 - George Mullin hit Honus Wagner and Bobby Byrne
1908 - Orval Overall hit Matty McIntyre
1907 - Bill Donovan hit Harry Steinfeldt and Jimmy Sheckard
1905 - Eddie Plank hit Roger Bresnahan
1903 - Deacon Phillippe hit Hobe Ferris

October 22nd post season HBPs:
2002 WS - Aaron Fultz hit Adam Kennedy
2001 ALCS - Aaron Sele hit Alfonso Soriano
2000 WS - Roger Clemens hit Edgardo Alfonzo, Mike Hampton hit David Justice
1995 WS - Dennis Martinez hit Marquis Grissom, Julian Tavarez hit Javy Lopez,
1972 WS - Rollie Fingers hit Darrel Chaney
1910 WS - King Cole hit Jack Barry


At 10/22/2005 08:39:00 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Bagwell can be added to the list now, perhaps more later.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home