Friday, November 10, 2006


Well, glad they finally got that settled.

Craig Biggio will return for his 20th season with the Astros in 2007. He will be the 24th player ever to play for the same franchise in 20 or more seasons, and the other 23 are pretty good company. 19 are in the Hall of Fame. 2 more probably already have their induction speeches written and will be giving them next summer.

20+ seasons with the same franchise:
PlayerTeamYearsSeasonsHall Induction
Brooks RobinsonOrioles1955-1977231983
Carl YastrzemskiRed Sox1961-1983231989
Cap AnsonCubs1876-1897221939
Ty CobbTigers1905-1926221936
Al KalineTigers1953-1974221980
Stan MusialCardinals1941-1963221969
Phil NiekroBraves1964-1987211997
Mel OttGiants1926-1946211951
Cal RipkenOrioles1981-2001212007**
Harmon KillebrewSenators/
Ted LyonsWhite Sox1923-1946211955
Willie MaysGiants1951-1972211979
Hank AaronBraves1954-1974211982
George BrettRoyals1973-1993211999
Walter JohnsonSenators1907-1927211936
Willie StargellPirates1962-1982211988
Alan TrammellTigers1977-199620soon?*
Warren SpahnBraves1942-1964201973
Robin YountBrewers1974-1993201999
Luke ApplingWhite Sox1930-1950201964
Red FaberWhite Sox1914-1933201964
Tony GwynnPadres1982-2001202007**
Mel HarderIndians1928-194720

*-Trammell is still on the ballot, but was only named on 17.7% of ballots last year
**-Gwynn and Ripken will be eligible on the 2007 ballot, and if they don't get in that year, I can only assume congress will demand that the Baseball Writers Association of America undergo testing for performance inhibiting drugs.

It's an impressive list of players there, but not one of them was hit by a pitch more than 94 times (Ty Cobb's total). That's only 2 more plunks than Biggio had just at the Astrodome. Walter Johnson hit an impressive 203 batters, but he only got hit 13 times.

Labels: ,