Sunday, October 23, 2005

World Series game 2 - Pettitte vs Buehrle

Mark Buehrle pitches game 2 for the White Sox tonight. He has never hit Craig Biggio with a pitch, but he was the only Chicago pitcher to plunk anyone before Contreras faced Bagwell last night. Buehrle hit Bengie Molina in Game 2 of the ALCS.
The only pitcher on the White Sox roster who has hit Biggio is Dustin Hermanson, who hit Biggio twice in one game on October 6, 2001.

Historically, the home team is 58-40-2 in Game 2 of the World Series, and 33-23-1 after winning game 1. On the other hand, data on World Series matchups between Texas and Chicago teams is sparse, so its hard to make any kind of conclusion based on history.

World Series Game 2 plunks:
2004 - Matt Morris hit Kevin Millar, Cal Eldred hit Jason Varitek
2003 - Mark Redman hit Jason Giambi
2001 - Andy Pettitte hit Luis Gonzalez
2000 - Roger Clemens hit Edgardo Alfonzo, Mike Hampton hit David Justice
1997 - Chad Ogea hit Gary Sheffield
1996 - Jimmy Key hit Andruw Jones, Greg Maddux hit Derek Jeter
1995 - Dennis Martinez hit Marquis Grissom, Julian Tavarez hit Javy Lopez
1992 - Tom Henke hit Lonnie Smith
1983 - Willie Hernandez hit Dan Ford
1978 - Burt Hooton hit Reggie Jackson
1975 - Jack Billingham hit Dwight Evans
1974 - Don Sutton hit Sal Bando
1973 - Tug McGraw hit Bert Campaneris, Horacio Pina hit Jerry Grote, and Rollie Fingers hit Cleon Jones
1971 - Bob Johnson hit Ellie Hendricks
1965 - Jim Kaat hit Wes Parker
1964 - Bob Gibson hit Joe Pepitone
1962 - Ralph Terry hit Jose Pagan
1960 - Bob Turley hit Joe Christopher
1957 - Art Ditmar hit Johnny Logan
1955 - Billy Loes hit Yogi Berra and Eddie Robinson
1953 - Preacher Roe hit Gil McDougald
1935 - Fabian Kowalik hit Hank Greenberg, Roy Henshaw hit Marv Owen
1928 - Clarence Mitchell hit George Pipgras
1927 - Mike Cvengros hit Earle Combs
1925 - Vic Aldridge hit Ossie Bluege
1923 - Jack Bentley hit Herb Pennock
1914 - Eddie Plank hit Rabbit Maranville
1913 - Eddie Plank hit Larry Doyle
1912 - Hugh Bedient hit Fred Snodgrass
1911 - Eddie Plank hit Fred Snodgrass
1907 - Jack Pfiester hit Ty Cobb, George Mullin hit Harry Steinfeldt
1906 - Ed Reulbach hit George Rohe
1903 - Bucky Veil hit Patsy Dougherty

October 23 postseason HBPs:

2004 WS - Tim Wakefield hit Albert Pujols, Woody Williams hit Orlando Cabrera
1993 WS - Larry Andersen hit Tony Fernandez
1986 WS - Dwight Gooden hit Don Baylor
1981 WS - Dave Righetti hit Pedro Guerrero


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home