Tuesday, October 04, 2005

2005 pitching awards

The Phil Knell Award (most plunks):
National League - Jeff Weaver (LAD) 18
American League - Casey Fossum (TB) 18
Fossum had an impressive 10 game plunking streak this year.

The Mitch Williams Award (most plunks by a reliever):
National League - Brian Fuentes (COL) 10
American League - Keiichi Yabu (OAK) 8

The Gus Weyhig Award (most plunks by a rookie):
American League - Scott Kazmir (TB) 10
National League - Brad Halsey (ARI) 9

The Chick Fraser Award (most batters faced without hitting anyone):
American League - Cliff Lee (CLE) 838
National League - Jorge Sosa (ATL) 577

Most plunks by a team:
American League - Boston Red Sox 89
National League - Colorado Rockies 84

Fewest plunks by a team:
National League - Atlanta Braves 31
American League - Cleveland Indians 40

The 2005 Pedro Astacio Award for Outstanding Contribution to Craig Biggio's chase of Hughie Jennings' all time hit-by-pitch record goes to:
Jason Jennings of the Colorado Rockies for hitting Craig Biggio with a pitch 3 times.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home